Time for a shift

Hello followers! Wait, that makes me sound a bit like a religious leader or a dictator, and I’m just a humble author. The thing is, “followers” is how WordPress terms the people who subscribe to updates from a blog. Maybe I’ll call them bloggowers. It’s ugly and I probably won’t use it ever again, but right here, right now, I have bloggowers!

Anyhoo, on with the post. I’ve made a decision as the publisher of Sitting at your Desk Isn’t Work to tell the editor of Sitting at your Desk Isn’t Work to harangue the writers of Sitting at your Desk Isn’t Work because they aren’t creating enough interesting content. The trouble is, the publisher, editor and writers of Sitting at your Desk Isn’t Work are all me, and I’m also an author trying to write and self-publish books. My time is therefore limited.

That’s why I’ve made an executive decision to post more frequently with content from elsewhere about writing and the publishing industry (both traditional and indie). This is win-win-win, because I don’t feel the need to create 600-word articles every week or two, my bloggowers get to read interesting content more often, and the writers of that content get links to their original articles. It’s either that or I unethically outsource my posts to child bloggers in Bangladesh.

Editor

Me*, earlier, revealing the blog’s new direction to my enormous staff of writers.

I may also start using my professional Facebook or Twitter accounts to post snippets of news on how my books are progressing, rather than struggle to craft an entire post on this blog every time I pass a milestone.

This isn’t exactly a makeover. Sitting at your Desk Isn’t Work will now become more like a channel for news on the industry and tips on writing fiction, but will basically look the same. Maybe I’ll call it a makeunder. So that’s two words minted in the space of five minutes. Enjoy the makeunder, my bloggowers!

 

*This is actually editor Alan Rusbridger addressing the Guardian newsroom to toast the paper’s Pulitzer win. Photo credit: katybird / Foter / CC BY-NC-SA

Leave a Reply

